“Homeland Security”

***this is all borrowed from Pastor Rod at church yesterday.  his sermon,my notes and thoughts, God’s word***

The past couple weeks have been part of a marriage series at our church.  I have to admit that when I saw yesterday’s title, homeland security, I was a little upset thinking this wasn’t going to be part of it.  Instictively, when I hear or see that phrase, government comes to mind, terriorist talk…and I was looking forward to a marriage sermon.  I put on my pout face, or at least in my mind I did.  I was all wrong though.  Yesterday’s homeland security was all about marriage.  It was about our own HOME-land security.  We are living with lost and broken homes all around us.  We pretend it’s okay and the norm.  It was a reminder and a road map.  We all need those.

“Be self-aware and alert.  The devil, your enemy, prowls around like a lion, looking for someone to devour.  Resist him standing firm in faith.” -1 Peter 5:8

Our HOMELAND SECURITY job: As parents, as a mama & a wife, I/we need to make sure we are protecting our HOMEland from our enemy-the devil.  Satan wants to destroy our home, steal our children.

1. Homeland Security requires a family with INTERGRITY.  Whole & complete…fighting together.

*Ephesians 6:1-4    Children obey your parents.  Parents, bring them up in the Lord.  (that’s way paraphased…look it up)

*Ephesians 5:22&33     Wives submit to your husbands.  He is the leader of the house.  Husbands love up your wives.  All like Jesus did.

Integrity means putting marriage FIRST.  It is a covenant and a promise to God.  Binding agreement between 2 parties…as serious as the covenant God made with Moses and with Abraham and with David.  FIGHT TO THE DEATH OF THAT!!!

2. Homeland security requires a family to SET BOUNDARIES. 

Freedom isn’t free.  It’s a myth to believe that freedom gives us the right to do whatever we want to do, whenever we want to do it.

*Galatians 5:13     Do not use freedom for sinful nature.  Use freedom through love to serve one another.

*Ephesians 6:4     Do not exasperate our kids.

*Colossians 3:something another…I missed writing this one down, but that whole chapter, Rules for Holy Living, pretty much needs to be on our refridgerator as our guidelines…”How to be a good parent and spouse.”

*Hebrews 10:25   Meet at church with people that can encourage you.

BOUNDARIES (security) =NECESSITY

3. Homeland security requires a family to BLESS THEIR CHILDREN.

There’s power in a blessing.  Do this for them-protect them, know what they are doing, (this is easier with our 1 year old than with her when she’s 15, but God gave us that job now and then) bless them with words of affirmation, and most of all bless them with the knowledge of God’s word.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““Homeland Security”

  1. Aunt Monnie

    Bethany, Thanks for that little “sermonette” (my made-up word for the day). I totally agree and was happy to read it. Thanks too for sharing your life and family with me through this blog. I LOVE reading it all…..especially seeing the pics of Audrey as she is growing up. I love you all,
    Aunt Monnie

  2. Juli

    Just found your blog via Ohdeedoh. Could not agree more. Love your porch, your adorable little girl & your VW bug. I am a bug fanatic & used to own a 1973 red convertible Super Beetle. I would be in hog-heaven if my hubby surprised me with one but we’d look pretty goofy with all 3 kiddos (and 1 on the way) shoved in that little car! 😉

Leave a Reply

