reminded

So I was just looking back through the folder I keep of my daily quotes that are worth saving and found this one by Paul McCartney.  “I love to hear a choir.  I love the humanity…to see the faces of real people devoting themselves to a piece of music.  I like the teamwork.  It makes me feel optimistic about the human race when I see them cooperating like that.”

I love this for so many reasons.  I love to think about us like this.  One humanity if you will.  More alike than we acknowledge.  Together working towards, although on seperate paths, the same goals in life, in love.  

And reading it I was reminded of a great aesthetic moment that I witnessed Friday at school.  We were having our end of the year awards ceremony.  The teachers were already seated on the stage, the students and parents in the chairs on the gym floor in the audience.  One of our very helpful (and so smart) eight graders was still tweaking the sound system.  And then there was one of those awful sound check gone bad noises, an eeecccckkkk, very very loud and unexpected.  And just by chance I caught the simultaneous movement of the whole group…they all brought their legs and arms in as if to take cover, to protect the body.  It was instinctive.  It could not have been better if it’d been planned and practiced.  It was almost beautiful.  Actually it was way more than beautiful.  It was one of those moments.  

Ahhhhh…

one humanity

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

